Congratulations to our Award Winners for 2013!

National Media Award — ESPN, Bristol, CT
For positive coverage of people with Down syndrome and other disabilities, and for sensitivity in using respectful language

Education Award — PEAK Parent Center, Colorado Springs, CO
For advancing best practices in support of inclusive educational opportunities

Christian Pueschel Memorial Research Award — Alberto Costa, Cleveland, OH
For significant research efforts and commitment to improving the lives of persons with Down syndrome

Christian Pueschel Memorial Citizen Award — Tessa Egan, E Greenwich, RI and Rachel Sibley, Foster, RI
For enhancing positive public awareness of Down syndrome by embodying the “More Alike Than Different” message

Theodore D. Tjossem Research Award — Katheleen Gardiner, Aurora, CO
In appreciation of work to improve the lives of people with Down syndrome and the learning and memory deficits resulting from Trisomy21 through research of the human chromosome 21

Exceptional Meritorious Service Award  – Maria Dellapina, Burton, OH
With deep appreciation for tireless devotion to children with Down syndrome through work in the optometric industry

NDSC Service Award — The Harris Family, Albuquerque, NM
With deep appreciation for long standing and meaningful dedication and service to the NDSC and the self advocates we serve

National Parent Group AwardDown Syndrome Association of Central Florida, Orlando, FL
In appreciation of the significant resources, both educational and social, that DSACF provides to those that live their area

Convention Service AwardDenver Host Committee: Adam’s Camp, Arc Thrift Stores, Colorado Springs Down Syndrome Association, Denver Adult Down Syndrome Clinic, Down Syndrome-Autism Connection, Global Down Syndrome Foundation, The Rise School of Denver, and Rocky Mountain Down Syndrome Association.
In appreciation of outstanding support of of the 2013 NDSC Convention

Employer of the Year Award — YMCA of the Prairie, Holdrege, NE
For creating and maintaining valued employment opportunities for individuals with Down syndrome

President’s AwardThe Sie and Whitten Families, Denver, CO
For improving the lives of people with Down syndrome through generous support of research, facilities and strategic partnerships and commitment to greater national and international awareness

President’s Award Asociación Dominicana Síndrome de Down y Fundación Quiéreme Como Soy
For supporting and serving individuals with Down Syndrome and their families by increasing awareness and understanding in the Dominican Republic

Board Service AwardHeather Hancock, Oklahoma City, OK; Claire Medlicott, Monument, CO; George Capone, Baltimore MD
In appreciation for service to the NDSC